Heterogeneous vs. Homogeneous Grouping, Brian Audet, ExEd Program

Recently I had the opportunity to research the effects of homogeneous and heterogeneous groupings in the classroom. Although I agree with most of the research in the articles that I read, I feel that the best way to experience the effects of such groupings is to experience it in the classroom on your own.

I have now been teaching mathematics for six years and have never had the opportunity to teach in a situation where the entire class of students were homogeneously grouped. I have, however, had the experience of using both heterogeneous and homogeneous groupings within the same classroom. One year, I had a small group of students who were at a very high level of math and a large group of mixed ability students, all in the same classroom. This class began the year in heterogeneous groups. I soon realized that I was going to have to do something different to challenge the upper level students. That is when I chose a small group to work with to be able to challenge them. It was much more work for me , but the payoff for the students was immense in terms of how much more of my curriculum I could cover with them compared to the other group in the classroom.

This group of students worked quite well together. Not only was I able to challenge them with more difficult assignments and activities they also challenged one another. I would get them started on a lesson or activity by quickly teaching them the concepts that related to the lesson while the other group was going over the previous nights assignment and then let them work as a group to complete the activity or lesson as I instructed the other group. It was amazing to me how motivated this group of students were when left on their own to do the assignment. I would take the opportunity to check in on them as I got the other group working on their activity. Their needs were much less than my heterogeneously grouped students and they were completing much more challenging work. As they worked in groups, it was a total group effort to complete an activity or to solve a problem. I did not have to worry about one of the students not participating in the group activity. My biggest problem was containing their volume when one of them could not convince one of the others that they were doing something incorrect. At times it was comical to sit back and listen to them argue to try and convince one another. There were a few times when the work was not challenging enough that I would have a few behavioral problems, but very rare.

As every educator is aware when dealing with mixed ability groups, you always have the students who prefer to sit back and let some other student do the work. It is quite challenging as a teacher and requires a creative teacher to be able to get every student to participate when you are working with students with mixed abilities. I know that it requires a lot more effort on my part. On many occasions I have grouped students so that I have many levels in one group and there are times when the stronger and more dominant students are doing the work and others will just be along for the ride. As you question the students on their work some of the students cannot tell you what they have done. Some of this relates to their confidence in their abilities and some of it is because they were not participating in the activity and do not understand the material covered. I have also experienced the strong math student who feels used by me to help other students in the classroom. Some of the students are good about helping other students and some are not.

Many low level students that I have worked with feel much more comfortable working in a group when grouped with other students who are at their level. I have seen this year after year in my math labs that I teach. You would not know that they are the same student as when they are in the regular math class. They are so much more responsive to me and to others that they are working with. They have commented that they are afraid to make a mistake in the regular classroom because they feel stupid. When they are working with other students who they know struggle as much as they do they are more comfortable giving answers. As much as I tell them that we all learn from mistakes they just will not participate in class unless I call on them. I as a teacher, I will hesitate to call on them in class because I know how they feel or I will call on them if I know they have the correct answer.

As far as mathematics goes, I would much prefer to work with students who are homogeneous grouped. I can easily challenge my strong math students and cover much more of the necessary curriculum. With the other students it is much easier to give them the one on one instruction and attention that they need to make them more successful in the classroom. Both of these groupings have their advantages and disadvantages, a lot of it depends on the students that you are working with. I feel that I am much better at meeting the needs of my students if they are grouped by their ability.

As we all know when we have groups that are mixed ability

9 Responses to Heterogeneous vs. Homogeneous Grouping, Brian Audet, ExEd Program

  1. Elizabeth Cavazos says:

    I am currently researching theory of heterogeneous and homogeneous classrooms and I wanted to say that I could not agree with this more. I am a second grade teacher who has 23 students. Of them, I have 3 special education students working on a first grade level, about 5 students working at a 3rd/4th grade level, and the rest of them “on grade”. When it comes to teaching number sense, I “traded” students with another teacher so that she had both on grade and above grade students and I took some on grade and mixed them with the below grade. This way, they were still heterogeneous in grouping, but not as diverse. The unit of teaching two-digit addition and subtraction with regrouping went so well for the students in my class who felt really confident with what they were doing. They were more willing to participate and explore without hesitation. They learned so much in 3 weeks that I am trying to convince my principal to do flexible grouping of this nature so that everyone can get what they need… high, low, or in the middle. Thanks for your post!

    • Bob Locker says:

      Have you completed your research? I am looking for evidence to support homogeneous grouping in my school.

  2. mark says:

    thaks for your ideas sir..it helps me a lot in my studies

  3. Thanks this made for useful reading. I dig your wordpress theme!

  4. Anguilla Spa says:

    Anguilla Spa…

    [...]Heterogeneous vs. Homogeneous Grouping, Brian Audet, ExEd Program « Growing Teachers[...]…

  5. A HDMI cable acts as the main artery between your TV and entertainment set-up therefore
    it is important you receive a good one. The Hunger Games: Catching
    Fire The first installation of “The Hunger Games” released in
    March 2012, was a huge box office success. According to the producers the movie is going to impress all portion of people like Prabhas earlier super hit films ”.

  6. Dominion: Intrigue is a standalone expansion for the award-winning
    Dominion card game that shook the gaming world in 2008.

    Just last year Apple sold more than one hundred million i – Phone and i –
    Pad apps. It sounds like you log into the game and join a “Shadow war” server and play with hundreds
    of other players within that PVP world, but that world is different from the
    cooperative Arkfall boss hunting world.

  7. Temeka says:

    Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ.
    Let it cool down for about 30 minutes before taking it out of the pan or adding frosting.
    Making hand shaped flowers like mums, roses, carnations, calla lilies, rosebuds and daisy will be taught as well.

  8. Janine says:

    a Bruce Lee workout includes stretching, bending, running, dipping, kicking, jumping, traditional muscle building exercises, weight lifting, rope skipping, medicine ball handling, etc.
    Vinson had participants keep their normal diet and
    exercise routines (or lack thereof) and merely added the green coffee.
    Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight loss diet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

